Blogging and Google Reader: The Missing Link

Image representing Google Reader as depicted i...

Image via CrunchBase

In my previous post I talked about the impending shutdown of Google Reader in July and I listed some of the features that I’d like to see in a Google Reader replacement.  One of the major missing pieces in the puzzle has always been getting articles that you’ve saved into a blog posting.

WordPress has a useful feature using Zemanta that identifies related blog postings and lets you add them to the bottom of your blog posting.  And while that’s useful it really doesn’t go far enough.

I’d like to be able to select a number of search hits, or articles from my RSS feed and add them to my post.  If the articles are journal articles, then I’d like to see them formatted with the appropriate PubMed ID and link, and I’d like a mouseover that let’s me see the abstract of the article. It would also be useful to be able to format those for use in the references section of a journal article.

About aspenbio

I write software for scientists. I'm interested in Java/Groovy/Grails, the Semantic Web and Cancer Biology.
This entry was posted in Science Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging and Google Reader: The Missing Link

  1. Thanks for including my blog post into your related articles. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

